top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureZavier Chan

My Self-development Plan in CS/Programming Part 1



Prologue: I've been trained academically in Information Technology during my Polytechnic education. I did Java programming, WAD, WSD, WCD, HTML etc. But I went into Digital Marketing Career and did Marketing for my Bachelors.


While building products for my startup, there were many times where I wish that I could've done better as a technologist to build something nicer than using low-code platforms.


As such, I decided to dedicate some portion of my time to LEARN Computer Science/Programming/Coding again.


The goal is to upskill myself in CS so that I could provide more for my startups or other organizations I work with in a hybrid role like Product Manager/Tech Sales/etc.


Anyway knowing myself, I am starting this series of blog posts to hold myself accountable so it forces me to keep on pushing and reflect on my mental gains at the end of the day.


Here's my plan:

  1. Attend easy free courses online from FutureLearn, EdX, etc.

  2. Attend formal courses (CS50) from named institutions like Harvard

  3. Attend coding Bootcamp

  4. Attend hackathons

Currently, I've completed the first course from the University of Leeds on Programming for Everyone.


The course covered the basics of programming which was a good refresher of the basics of programming.



Print {I was so glad the basics from Java still applies!}

During the course, I was also exposed to visual coding platforms now like Blockly.



Blockly Visual Coding Platform 



IDE Coding platform


It's such a good way to learn coding again as it eliminates typo from traditional coding method via IDE.


All in all, it's refreshing to start this journey and I am looking forward to CS50 by Harvard!




6 views0 comments
bottom of page